On the Subject of Self-Editing

This is a most excellent article by the Truly Fab Eden Baylee!

I am a writer and a reader. On occasion, I am a reviewer, but one thing I can never be is an editor of my own work. Given that, I’d like to speak about self-editing, the important process I do before I hand off my manuscript to a professional editor.

Even if you are an indie writer who does not use a professional editor for whatever reason, I hope the following information will be helpful for you.

editor

Many writers hire two types of editors, and the same person can be both in some cases.

Content Editor – looks at the big picture: plot, characterization, voice, and setting.

Copy Editor – specializes in grammar, punctuation, fact-checking, spelling, and formatting.

The reason I self-edit is to provide my editor with the best possible draft of my work, free of: typos; grammatical errors; plot holes; etc., but I know that even with the…

View original post 898 more words

~ by Shannon MacLeod on February 24, 2015.

One Response to “On the Subject of Self-Editing”

  1. Oh my goodness, Shannon. I miss you! Thanks so much for connecting and reblogging here. I hope life is treating you well. xox

Leave a Reply

 
