Fire: The Salamander Lord (Dangerous Beasts Book 1)

dangerous beasts

Fire: The Salamander Lord (Dangerous Beasts Book 1)

by Therése von Willegen

I just finished re-reading Fire: The Salamander Lord (Dangerous Beasts Book 1) by Therése von Willegen for the third time, savoring it much as I would a box of Godiva Dark Chocolate Truffles – a dark, decadent treat filled with silky indulgences and my newest favorite guilty pleasure.

Ms. Von Willegen has created wonderfully compelling characters and a storyline that grabbed me within the first two pages. The setting is dark and exotic, and her power of description had me absorbed in the world she created before I even realized I had left my own. No, you’ll get no synopsis or spoilers from me – I went in with eyes wide open and discovered its erotic brilliance word by steaming word. I would have you do the same.

That being said, Enya’s character arc – thinking she knew what she wanted then allowing her heart to change her mind – is one of the best I’ve seen in a very long time. And the Salamander Lord – DAMN. Just. DAMN. I’ve read lots of books with alpha males with heat and swaggers aplenty, but none compares to this arrogant, fiery lizard. And you’re gonna love him just for that reason.

I truly enjoyed this book and am hoping against hope that “Book 1” means a Book 2 is in the works…and coming out really soon.

~ by Shannon MacLeod on December 31, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
