The Leibster Award!

A few months ago, I was approached by Charlie Nitric, one of the hardest working authors on Twitter. This guy wrote LOL, a book guaranteed to make you smile, snicker and ROFLOL – if you haven’t read it yet, go buy it now here … Captain Charismatic himself honored me with the Leibster Award. Due to pre edits and copy edits and line edits, I haven’t been able to accept until now – so let’s think of it as fashionably late and I offer my abject apologies.
11 Questions for my award-winning authors
1) If you could write 75 words (or less) that the President would quote in a State of the Union address to the American people, what would you say?
– “Ok America, it’s time for common sense and manners to take over again – let’s start holding people accountable for their actions and quit bitching about everything/everybody else. This is a big sandbox – everyone just pull up your big kid panties and grow the hell up.”
2) What have you experienced as the pros and cons of Twitter?
– I’ve met some great people through Twitter, but I’ve also met some posers and a few that could benefit from medication. Overall it’s fun, but I still get jammed up on the 140 characters or less. I talk too much.
3) If you had to sing a song on American Idol, what song would you sing, and why would you choose that song?
– That’s tough – either Kick Start My Heart by Motley Crue or maybe Whipping Post by the Allman Brothers (that’s what’s on right now). Maybe something from La Boheme. Depends on who the judges are. You gotta play to the house, you know.
4) What is the most embarrassing moment that has happened to you on a date (or, with your spouse)?
– Epic wardrobe malfunction. The cops were called. I’m not saying anything else.
5) If you could sit and chat with a deceased author from history, who would that be, and why did you choose that author?
– Tolkien, hands down. Next would be Oscar Wilde and William Butler Yeates, Robert Burns, Shel Silverstein , Theodor Giesel, Marion Zimmer Bradley and Aleister Crowley.
6) Imagine you’re invisible and you are required to follow Charlie Nitric around for one day. What would you expect to witness and what can you imagine that might surprise you (be nice and clean, lol)?

-I would expect to need my running shoes – at the gym by crack o’ dawn thirty, something organic for breakfast then off to save the world by dazzling feats of social consciousness and thoughtful consideration. I would expect an active, positive energy filled day. And a mid afternoon doughnut.
7) If you had a 60-second time slot for a Superbowl commercial, how would your advertisement play out?
– Shameless self promotion, book trailers, plugs and buy suggestions. “It (insert book title here) makes a great gift!” Maybe make it into a musical – either way, the marketing team is going to have to work overtime to compete with the likes of Nolan’s Cheese or the Kia Hamsters.
8) How would you describe your laughter? Example: insensitive wheezing…; hysterical cackling…; loud, obnoxious bursts of hahaha’s…; you get my point. Please explain.

– I giggle. It’s appalling and undignified, but there it is. It’s not quite the hyena sound, but close.
9) What things that people do annoy you the most?
– Obvious lies – the ones people tell and you KNOW they know you know they’re lying but they do it anyway. Bullies and bigots piss me off.
10) If you could live in another era in time, when would that be, and why?
– I’d really love to live during the chivalry and pageantry of medieval times…except I still want a fast internet connection and a good sushi place that delivers. Maybe I should stay here…for now, anyway. 
11) Go ahead. You know you want to. Please provide us a 100 word quote from one of your books (list the book title, as well
– I couldn’t decide which to use, so I’m doing two. So there. 😀
From The Celtic Knot: Suit of Cups (Available now from Lyrical Press)
“Lily–indeed, a most beautiful name. Now tell me,” he stared pointedly at her hand, “I see no ring that another has claimed you as his, so my confidence is strengthened. Look at your cards again, milady, and tell me if you see me in your future.”
~ Ian Kelly
And from Rogue on the Rollaway (coming 10/1/13 from Lyrical Press)
“Were we in my time, Princess, I would have hunted our dinner and cooked it over an open fire, and when ye had eaten yer fill I would spread my plaid and lay ye down under the stars,” he murmured in a deep, smoky voice. He dropped a soft kiss on top of her head. “Then afterward…” He placed another kiss at the nape of her neck. “…I would hold ye close in my arms and keep ye safe while ye slept.”
~ Faolán MacIntyre

Please visit me at my website for excerpts and teasers – I’m also on Facebook, Goodreads and  Twitter!

Brian, you’re  a rock star – thanks so much for having me! 🙂

~ by Shannon MacLeod on May 1, 2013.

2 Responses to “The Leibster Award!”

  1. 1. Love your 75 words

    4. Oh you simply must tell this tale…future blog post?

    9. Yeah those kind of lies/liars make me mad because I think they think I am stupid, they’re insulting my intelligence.

    10. …and indoor plumbing, I would think.

    11. smooooth operator that Ian Kelly

    Chow!
    food_chick

    P.S. I was sent here via The Bloggers Daily

  2. I forgot…congratulations on the award 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
