The Next Big Thing!

Yaay – I’m it! Nai’lah Carter was kind enough to tag me for The Next Big Thing Blog Tour. The purpose of this promotion is to be able to discover new books you may not have heard about or for works that are still in progress. This is week 21 – I am required to answer the following 10 questions then list other authors to do the same next Wednesday. I am positively wiggling with delight to participate, so without further ado…

What is the working title of your book?

The Celtic Knot: Suit of Cups. This is the first book of my Arcana Love series based on the Tarot suits.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

My first effort was the companion book for The ShadowFox Tarot (writing as Jennifer ShadowFox, published 4/10 by Schiffer Books) so I have something of a metaphysical background. Intrigued by the blurb on the back I read a romance novel in which Tarot cards were featured. The author didn’t do any/enough research into what the cards actually mean and there were glaring inaccuracies which totally put me off the rest of the story. As they say, necessity is the mother of invention. Creativity too, it seems. I thought about the four suits and one thing just led to another. I’m very proud of my Scot Irish heritage, so it wasn’t much of a leap to put all four personality types in a big Irish family and gift them all with unique paranormal skills to keep it interesting.

What genre does your book fall under?

Paranormal Romance

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I always envision Gerard Butler with long auburn curls as Ian. Lily is a little tougher to cast – I see her as delicate, but strong – maybe Kiera Knightley with a southern drawl, y’all.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Sometimes love lasts longer than a lifetime.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I’m proud and delighted to say that Lyrical Press, Inc will be publishing The Celtic Knot: Suit of Cups 1/7/13 and its sequel The Gypsy Ribbon: Suit of Wands in 2014. The Rogue on the Rollaway is my Scottish time travel romance and will also be out in 2014 from Lyrical Press. You can read an excerpt from The Celtic Knot: Suit of Cups and the prologue from Rogue on the Rollaway on my website – http://www.shannonmacleod.com/

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I wrote the first draft in three months, longhand and in red pen, no less. It ended up just over 112,000 words. With the help of some great beta readers and a very patient editor, it tightened up to a svelte 97,000.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series and G.A Aiken’s Dragonkin series. I love fast paced stories, smoking hot love scenes and witty dialogue that makes me laugh out loud.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

There are a couple of answers – the first is I’ve always been interested in writing and I love telling stories. The second answer is I started actively writing fiction in a dark period of my personal life as a sort of escape. I created my own world where I felt more in control of what was happening. It’s been great therapy, wicked good fun and a phenomenal learning experience – now my sun is shining again, life has never been better and I’m outlining my fourth novel with four more waiting in the wings, not to mention two new Tarot books in the works (that’s a secret – shhh….) The third reason is that I wanted to leave something behind for my kids to look back on and say “Yeah, my mom wrote that.”

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Let’s see….past lives, astral travel, random acts of witchery, renaissance faires, Irish shenanigans, Southern charm, a cat that’s really running the show…and oh, yes….a love so strong it takes more than one lifetime to contain it. And that’s just Ian and Lily – wait until you meet the rest of the family!

I’m on Twitter and Facebook – visit me at my website for updates and more teasers!

So now – check out these amazing writers!

Sonya Clark

George Pappas

Robert Eaton

~ by Shannon MacLeod on November 14, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Next Big Thing!”

  1. Shannon:

    Wow, your book sounds amazing!!!! I love your one line synopsis of the book. Excellent job.

    I wish you all the best, luv!
    Nai’

  2. I agree, the book sounds great! Thanks for tagging me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
