Unrequited

I lit a candle and wrote a letter to you

I have no pride on lines and spaces

Pouring my heart out, giving flight to my innermost feelings

The ones I cannot voice

Gods how I want you

How the very need for you leaves

A longing ache deep in my bones

My skin burns for even your incidental touch

My emptiness, only you can fill

The hollowness, banished with but a whispered word

I want you

I need you

Sweet water to my parched soul

You hold the spark to awaken my slumbering passion

 

In silence

I watch the edges of the paper curl

as my words feed the flame

only then will I seek my empty bed

to tell you this

in dreams

 

~ by Shannon MacLeod on November 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
