Teasers and Butterfly Nets

 Just checking in….

I’ve been so busy of late that I can’t catch my ass with both hands and a butterfly net. I’m still working frantically on edits for The Celtic Knot: Suit of Cups, and have a couple of pieces of poetry banging around waiting for my attentions. They’re just too….(pause for dramatic effect)…unfinished to share. I’m getting to it, alright? Jeez.

I’m on Facebook, Twitter (@themacleod) and now I’ve got a Tumblr account where I post things that I find amusing or makes me think.  Or makes me think they’re amusing. You can see that here:  http://xsmaclx.tumblr.com/

So in the meantime…here’s a bitty wee teaser from The Celtic Knot, in which our hero is awakened unceremoniously by his big sister and a blue silk scarf throws him under the love bus…   

 

Tá mé ar meisce,” said the muffled voice lying face down in the pillow.

“I can see for myself you’re drunk. My question is why and at this ungodly hour of the morning,” Meg called from the door of Ian’s bedroom. “I’m not even going to ask why you didn’t even bother to change clothes when you got home last night. Lord, you’re a mess.” When he didn’t immediately roust to defend himself, her intuitive wheels began to turn. “You two had a fight and it’s your fault.”

“Don’t want to talk about it,” Ian groaned from his prostrated position.

“Oh, you poor dear,” Meg said, flinging open the heavy curtains to allow the early morning sunlight to stream into the darkened room. He moaned and tried to roll into a ball to avoid the light.  She laughed. “No help for it, boyo – you’ve got to get up.”

“You’re the devil. Poor Dan,” he muttered, pulling the pillow over his head then changing his mind hurled it at his tormentor instead.  

“I brought you breakfast,” she said, nimbly dodging the feathery missile.

“Not hungry,” Ian growled.

 “You need to get some food in your stomach, it’ll make you feel better,” she assured him.

He struggled to sit up and fell back on the bed. “No Megs, it won’t. I hurt her on purpose and it made her cry. I was a perfect ass,” he said, clenching his eyes against the pain. “Sweet bleeding Jaysus – just kill me now and be done with it.”

“Aw, don’t be so hard on yourself – you’re nowhere near perfect,” Meg said, biting hard on the inside of her cheek to keep a straight face.

“It’s not funny,” Ian snapped, managing to sit upright on the second attempt. “She might not ever speak to me again after last night.”

“What the hell did you do to her?”

“I kissed her,” he mumbled, pushing off the bed and disappearing into the bathroom.

Meg gasped. “Oh, the horror,” she said, rolling her eyes. “Well, it seems to me you’ve done that before and she didn’t run screaming.” When the door opened again, Ian stumbled back through the bedroom to the kitchen, returning with Meg’s covered plate. “Thought you weren’t hungry.”

“Changed my mind,” he said, sullenly spearing a chunk of fried egg and shoving it in his mouth. “Thanks, Meggie – s’good.”

She nodded. “So what was different about last night?” she asked.

Ian wolfed down the rest of the eggs, sausage and fried potatoes then set the empty plate down carefully on the bed. “She told me she was seeing someone else.”

“Since when has something like that ever bothered you?” Meg asked, astonished.

Ian blew out a heavy sigh. “Since now. I don’t want to talk about this anymore.” He went into the bathroom, closing the door behind him. The shower came on, followed by several muffled thumps. Moving about the room as she tied up, Meg noticed something blue tangled up in the rumpled sheets and gave it a tug. She eyed the length of silk curiously, then gasped in realization that maybe for the first time ever, her little brother was completely and hopelessly in love.

Doing all she could to keep from laughing out loud with sheer delight, she banged on the bathroom door and yelled through. “I’ll see you later.” No response. “I’ll let myself out.” Hearing a crash and something that sounded suspiciously like a string of very creative curses, she sprinted for the door, grinning as she stepped out into the sunshine of what promised to be a grand and glorious day.

 

~ by Shannon MacLeod on November 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
