Grudge

Don’t send me flowers

Or boxes of sugary profusions

No sparkly adornments, please

Don’t write me letters filled with pretty words

Or text me with little smiley faces

Don’t call me on the phone and

Leave endless messages on my voicemail.

Don’t leave kiss strewn notes on my car.

And above all –

Don’t you dare smile at me like that.

I might just forget myself and smile back.  🙂

~ by Shannon MacLeod on October 14, 2011.

5 Responses to “Grudge”

  1. Fantastic poem, and not at all the ending I was expecting as I read. Loved it! Great work.

  2. I like this. I like the playful feeling the last line leaves me with. And, I can relate! Very nice poem!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/perfect-love/

  3. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
