Peace

Lay ye down, my bonny man

Lay your head upon my breast

Let me sooth your furrowed brow

Lay ye down, my love, and rest.

 

There’s nae more to be done this day

The fire is banked, the furs are warm

Come seek your shelter in my arms

I’ll hold ye close until the morn.

 

The morrow will come soon enough

And its challenges will grow apace

But think nae more on that this night

And lie with me a little space.

 

Then after when our loving’s done

And silence falls throughout the keep

Close your eyes and rest your head

Lay ye down, my love, and sleep.

 

~ by Shannon MacLeod on September 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
