Misplaced

I hate to look in the mirror and see

no one there

gone again

left no forwarding address.

Where could I have put me?

Maybe far back on a shelf, hard to reach and

hard to get down from

Maybe in an unused closet

stuck in someone else’s memorabilia

Maybe lost in the shuffle of a desk drawer

full of unpaid bills, ticket stubs and appointment books

Do I live here? I think so.

Wait – now I think I know what happened.

I didn’t lose myself.

I loaned myself out to someone else

and they lost me.

~ by Shannon MacLeod on August 26, 2011.

One Response to “Misplaced”

  1. glad that you are yourself,

    powerful expression, love it.

Leave a Reply

 
